The 2013 Soul Train Awards WINNERS!


Soul Train Awards 2013 - ShowThe Soul Train Awards taped Nov. 8th at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas. The awards aired Dec. 1st at 8PM EST on BET and Centric.  Actor-comedian Anthony Anderson hosted the show.

And the Winners are…

Soul Train Awards 2013 - Show
Best New Artist

1. Bridget Kelly
2. K. Michelle (winner)
3. Kendrick Lamar
4. Tamar Braxton
5. TGT

•Centric Certified Award

1. Joss Stone
2. Luke James (winner)
3. Lyfe Jennings
4. Solange
5. Stacy Barthe
6. Talib Kweli

•Best Gospel/Inspirational Performance

1. Break Every Chain – Tasha Cobbs
2. Confessions- Lecrae
3. Every Praise – Hezekiah Walker
4. God Will Make Away – Shirley Caesar
5. If He Did It Before…Same God – Tye Tribbett (winner)
6. Life & Favor – John P. Kee

•Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year

1. Bad – Wale feat. Tiara Thomas (winner)
2. High School – Nicki Minaj feat. Lil Wayne
3. Holy Grail – Jay Z feat. Justin Timberlake
4. Poetic Justice – Kendrick Lamar feat. Drake
5. Power Trip – J. Cole feat. Miguel
6. Started From the Bottom – Drake

Soul Train Awards 2013 - Show•Best R&B/Soul Female Artist

1. Alicia Keys
2. Chrisette Michelle
3. Fantasia
4. Janelle Monae
5. Kelly Rowland
6. Tamar Braxton (winner)

•Best R&B/Soul Male Artist

1. Bruno Mars
2. Charlie Wilson
3. Chris Brown
4. John Legend
5. Miguel (winner)
6. Robin Thicke

•Album of the Year

1. 20/20 Experience, The – Justin Timberlake
2. Good Kid, M.A.A.D City – Kendrick Lamar (winner)
3. Kaleidoscope Dream – Miguel
4. Magna Carta…Holy Grail – Jay-Z
5. The Side Effects of You – Fantasia
6. Unapologetic – Rihanna

•Song of the Year

1. Blurred Lines – Robin Thicke feat. Pharrell & T.I. (winner)
2. Diamonds -Rihanna
3. Fine China – Chris Brown
4. Love and War – Tamar Braxton
5. Poetic Justice – Kendrick Lamar feat. Drake
6. Suit & Tie – Justin Timberlake feat. Jay Z

•The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award

1. Crooked Smile – J.Cole (Jermaine Cole, Meleni Smith)
2. Fire We Make – Alicia Keys feat. Maxwell (Alicia Keys, Andrew Wansel, Warren Felder, Gary Clark Jr.)
3. Lose to Win – Fantasia (Andrea Martin, Harmony Samuels, Fantasia Barrino, Courtney Harrell, Emeli Sande)
4. Love & War – Tamar Braxton (Tamar Braxton. LaShawn Daniels, Makeba Riddick) (winner)
5. Mirrors – Justin Timberlake (Justin Timberlake, Timothy Mosley, Jerome Harmon, James Fauntleroy)
6. Q.U.E.E.N. – Janelle Monae feat. Erykah Badu (Janelle Monae Robinson, Nathaniel Irvin III, Charles Joseph II, Kellis Parker Jr, Roman GianArthur Irvin)

•Best Dance Performance

1. Blurred Lines – Robin Thicke
2. Body Party – Ciara (winner)
3. Fine China – Chris Brown
4. Q.U.E.E.N. – Janelle Monae feat. Erykah Badu
5. Suit & Tie – Justin Timberlake feat. Jay Z
6. Treasure – Bruno Mars

Soul Train Awards 2013 - Show•Video of the Year 

1. Blurred Lines – Robin Thicke feat. Pharrell & T.I. (Diane Martel)
2. Fine China – Chris Brown (Chris Brown, Sylvain White)
3. Love & War – Tamar Braxton (Walid Azami)
4. Poetic Justice – Kendrick Lamar feat. Drake (The Lil Homie, Dave Free, and Dangerookipawaa)
5. Q.U.E.E.N. – Janelle Monae feat. Erykah Badu (Alan Ferguson) (winner)
6. Started from the Bottom – Drake (Director X)

•Best Collaboration 

1. Alicia Keys feat. Maxwell – Fire We Make
2. Brandy feat. Chris Brown – Put It Down
3. J.Cole feat. Miguel – Power Trip
4. Janelle Monae feat. Erykah Badu – Q.U.E.E.N.
5. Miguel feat. Kendrick Lamar – How Many Drinks
6. Robin Thicke feat. Pharrell & T.I. – Blurred Lines (winner)
7. Wale feat. Sam Dew – LoveHate Thing awards (ONLINE VOTING ONLY): 

•Best International Performance (

1. Differentology – Bunji Garlin (winner)
2. The Fog – Machel Montano
3. Next To Me – Emeli Sande
4. Personally – P-Square
5. Ur Waist – Iyanya

•Best Traditional Jazz Performance (

1. George Benson feat. Wynton Marsalis – Unforgettable
2. Jeffrey Osborne feat. Chaka Khan – Baby its Cold Outside
3. Tony Bennett feat. Marc Anthony – For Once In My Life
4. Nicole Henry – Waiting In Vain (winner)
5. Terrence Blanchard – Pet Step Sister’s Theme Song

•Best Contemporary Jazz Performance (

1. Jose James – Trouble
2. Boney James feat. Rick Braun – Batucada (The Beat)
3. Michael Buble – It’s A Beautiful Day
4. Dave Koz – Got To Get You Into My Life
5. George Duke – Missing You (winner)

Soul Train Awards 2013 - Show•Best Independent R&B/Soul Performance (

1. Ashanti – Never Should Have (winner)
2. Brian McKnight – Sweeter
3. Kenny Lattimore – Find A Way
4. Maysa – Love Me Good
5. Raheem DeVaughn – Love Connection
6. Ronald Isley – Dinner And A Movie 

# # #

Nomination process: There is a voting academy made up of about 500 people from the music industry, media, and bloggers. Centric sends out ballots electronically and voters nominate in all the different categories who they think should be award nominees. These are collated by a group called “Yangaroo” that works on other awards shows as well, and they narrow it to the top five nominees, and send that list back out to the academy to vote on the winner.

SOUL TRAIN AWARDS 2013 is directed by Tony McCuin and produced by Centric TV and Sunseeker Media. Executive producers of the network telecast are as follows: Paxton Baker, Tami Arasli, Derek Lewis from Centric; Bart Phillips from Sunseeker Media and Kenard Gibbs from Soul Train Holdings. The motto for this year’s awards isWe Got Soul.

For more information, please visit Follow us at @centrictv and @bet, and join the conversation with #SoulTrainAwards #WeGotSoul.


  1. barbara says:

    Tamar is the winner in our opinion and always will be…She,me,her is our number one and we believe in her..You are beat tamar…We love you

  2. TamarFan says:

    What about ‘Best Entertainment/Music Website or Blog’ ??

  3. signoff STMA says:

    No way Alicia & Maxwell didn’t get anything..that song was super hot!! Bogus

  4. Criis/25Nov. says:

    JOSS STONE!!!!
    Finally something with real SOUL!

Leave a Comment

Powered by WordPress | Site by Fishbucket