2011 Soul Train Awards Winners

The 2011 Soul Train Awards was an extraordinary show that premiered on both Centric and BET on Sunday, November 27 at 9:00 PM EST. The legendary group The Original 7Ven, The Group Formerly Known As The Time, opened the show with an explosive performance. We’ll have more on the show later today, but for now, let’s get to the list of winners.

2011 Soul Train Awards Winners

Best New Artist – Miguel

Centric Award – Raphael Saddiq

Best Male R&B/Soul Artist – Cee-Lo Green

Best Female R&B/Soul Artist – Jill Scott

Best Gospel Performance – Mary Mary, “Walking”

Album of the Year –Chris Brown, F.A.M.E.

Best Soul Site – NecoleBitchie.com

The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award/Record of the Year, “Far Away” – Marsha Ambrosius

2011 Soul Train Legends – Gladys Knight and the Pips, Earth Wind and Fire

Best Caribbean Performance – Rihanna, “Man Down”

Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year – Nicki Minaj, Kanye West ft. Rihanna, “Nicki Minaj featuring Drake, “Moment For Life”

Contemporary Jazz –Dave Koz, “Dave Koz, Hello Tomorrow”

Traditional Jazz – Cassandra Wilson, “Cassandra Wilson, Silver Pony”

Best Dance Performance – Beyonce, “Run The World”

Song of the Year –Kelly Rowland featuring Lil Wayne, “Motivation”

Check out photos of the performances and presenters in our 2011 Soul Train Awards Photo Gallery.


  1. bushke says:

    thank the lord 4 Don Cornelius! he opened tha doors 4 all of us that followed th@ era. originator. i feel it could’a been taken a lil’ more seriously, tho….especially when it’s our musiq. love still.
    all tha way from ghana.

  2. loula bell says:

    I was not pleased with the awards this year. The tributes could have been done better, the show seemed rushed and thrown together last minute, the category presentation didnt play the artist music, and the talent lined up for the tributes were not compatible with the talent being honored. Just REALLY disappointed!

Trackbacks for this post

  1. The 2011 Soul Train Music Awards – World News – All Urban Radio – Urban Online Radio Stations
  2. Necole Bitchie Talks Success and Creating Opportunities | Grind & Thrive
  3. Beyonce, Rihanna + Cee Lo Green Win 2011 Soul Train Awards
  4. The 2011 Soul Train Awards

Leave a Comment

Powered by WordPress | Site by Fishbucket